About Madikeri Fort

Madikeri Fort was first founded by Mudduraja in the second half of the 17th century. He also built a palace inside the fort. It was eventually rebuilt in granite by Tipu Sultan who named the site as Jaffarabad. In 1790, Dodda Vira Rajendra took control of the fort. The British who added to the fort in 1834. The palace was renovated by Linga Rajendra II in 1812-1814. In the north-east corner at the entrance are two life size masonry elephants and a church is present in the south-east corner.

Quick Facts

Timings 09:00 AM - 05:30 PM

Visit Duration: 45 Minutes

Address: Madikeri Fort, Stuart Hill, Madikeri, Karnataka 571201, India

Photos

email